The PACS Certification demonstrates that professionals have met rigorous standards through intensive study, self-assessment and evaluation. The PACS certification is the most comprehensive training program in the world. Achieving the PACS demonstrates the highest standards of knowledge, and excellence in the prior authorization field. It also sets the stage for continual professional development through values centered on lifelong learning.

Certification Requirements

  • Successfully complete all modules in the training program.
  • Those individuals looking to achieve certification, must complete a final exam.
  • For individuals who wish to obtain a certificate of completion, an exam is NOT required.

Who should enroll?

  • Current prior authorization professionals (this includes: Pharmacists, Pharmacy Technicians, LPNs, RNs, Physician Assistants, Nurse Practitioners, Physicians, Medical Assistants, Front Office staff at Providers offices, Case Managers, Registered Nurse Case Manager).
  • Current Students looking to specialize or expand their career options (pharmacy students, pharmacy technician students, nursing students.
  • Current professionals working in promotional or non-promotional medical education agencies which support pharmaceutical companies (Drug Representatives).
  • Those professionals working within other clinical or healthcare roles and are transitioning to a prior authorization role (Medical Coder, Home Health Aide, Accounts Receivable Specialists, Patient Care Coordinator, Team Leader, Customer Service Representative).
  • Physicians, pharmacists (retail, clinical, hospital, specialty), nurses, pharmacy technicians, wishing to transition into the prior authorization field.


*Note: Each applicant will be carefully considered based on a combination of their professional, clinical and educational background.

Maintenance & Renewal of Certification

The PACS Certification must be renewed every 3 years.

There are 2 paths for maintaining & renewing certification:

  • Retaking the exam and passing
  • OR

  • Completing 10 hours of continuing education approved by the NBPAS

The cost for recertification is $299. For more questions about recertification, please email us at info@priorAuthTraining.org

*An individual has 4 attempts to pass the PACS certification exam.

The PACS Program Provides IACET CEUs

IACET Statement of Accreditation

The Accreditation Council for Medical Affairs, the parent company of the National Board of Prior Authorization Specialists, is accredited by the International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET). The Accreditation Council for Medical Affairs complies with the ANSI/IACET Standard, which is recognized internationally as a standard of excellence in instructional practices. As a result of this accreditation, the Accreditation Council for Medical Affairs is authorized to issue the IACET CEU.

IACET CEU Credit Statement

As an IACET Accredited Provider, the Accreditation Council for Affairs offers CEUs for its programs that qualify under the ANSI/IACET Standard. The Accreditation Council for Medical Affairs is authorized by IACET to offer 1.2 CEUs for the PACS program. Note: All target audience members are eligible for continuing education credit upon successful completion of this course. This course does not issue certificates of attendance and does not award partial Joint Accreditation (JA) or IACET CEU continuing education credit certificates for partial completion.